Categories and age classifications in Silat


Image credit: SportSG


Silat is a sport that consists of many complex defence and attack techniques. In order to allow a particular team to fully showcase its abilities in various areas, four different kinds of competition events have been established for them to take part in. These include the Tanding, Tunggal, Ganda, and Regu categories.

Tanding refers to a match, where two teams send out a representative each to engage in a bout with each other. Opponents have to abide by strict rules regarding stance, movement patterns, and permitted attacking areas.

Tunggal, on the other hand, is a singles event. Only one contestant is allowed in the arena at a time. He or she will showcase a solo routine - without weapons first, before moving on to an armed segment.

Groups of two will participate in the Ganda, or doubles, category. They will showcase a three-minute routine, taking turns to performed unarmed and with weapons.

The Regu category refers to a team event. It involves routines performed by three members of the same team, but, unlike the Tunggal competitions, contestants go in unarmed.

Within each category, contestants are also divided into three separate age groups in order to ensure a fairer contest. The youngest age classification is the pre-teenagers’ group, which comprises budding silat talents aged from 12 to 14. The teenagers come next, made up of youths from 14 to 17. The adult group includes silat practitioners aged 17 to 40. The age groups are further split into two gender categories - putra (male) and putri (female).

It is important for contestants to note that their ages must match their registered age classifications on the date of the first competition round, or risk disqualification.

Originally published in


Silat rules and regulations |
| Silat weight divisions